Holy Orders

/Holy Orders
Holy Orders 2013-07-23T04:42:10+00:00

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time; thus, it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees:

  1. episcopate: ordination of bishops
  2. presbyterate: ordination of priests
  3. diaconate: ordination of deacons

If you are interested in studying for the priesthood or are interested in religious life, please speak to one of the priests at Five Wounds Portuguese National Parish or contact the Director of Vocations of the Diocese of San José at 1.408.983.0155. More information may be found on the Vocations page on the diocesan Web site at dsj.org.

Information about studying for the priesthood may also be found on the St. Patrick’s Seminary Web site.